ISBE History

How it all Began: ISBE’s meetings started in the mid 70s shortly after the publication of the Bolton Report in 1971 which led to the emergence of entrepreneurship as a legitimate public policy target and focus for academic research. By 1977 these ad hoc, informal meetings of the early small business and entrepreneurship researchers had become a full annual conference which is still running nearly 40 years later.

The Institute is formed: Originally an annual conference hosted by a different university each year, it was not until 1989 that the researchers formally organised as the UK Enterprise Management and Research Association (UKEMRA). Three years later, in 1992, the name was changed to Institute for Small Business Affairs (ISBA). In 2004, recognising the increased focus on entrepreneurship in policy and research, the organisation became the Institute for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (ISBE).

Our past activities and achievements: Through the years as well as the ISBE conference, ISBE has held many regional events in the form of doctoral workshops, workshops on all aspects of entrepreneurial education and research, policy think-tanks and debates in response to government initiatives and other contemporary issues, and practical, skill-building workshops for small business practitioners. ISBE has produced many publications such as books, reports, research papers and conference outcomes. In addition to this, ISBE provided a network for those in the field of small business and entrepreneurship allowing collaboration, debate and sharing of valuable insight, knowledge and best practice. In this way, ISBE has sought to contribute to the world of enterprise by disseminating knowledge and skills, platforming the latest research, supporting entrepreneurial education and encouraging debate.

ISBE/ISBA Presidents:

Lorna Treanor – November 2023 to present
Andrew Henley – October 2021 to November 2023
Kiran Trehan – November 2019 to October 2021
Gideon Maas – November 2017 to November 2019
Pauric McGowan – November 2015 to November 2017
Nigel Culkin – May 2014 to November 2015
Lynn Martin – May 2012 to April 2014
Nigel Lockett – May 2010 to April 2012
Colette Henry – April 2008 to April 2010
Paul Hannon – November 2006 to March 2008
Colin Gray – 2004 to November 2006
David Harvey – 2002/2004
Ian Chaston – 2001/2002
David Deakins – 1999/2000
Francis Chittenden – 1995/1998
Paul Burns – 1992/1994
Ken O’Neill – 1991/1992